Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Cote d'Ivoire Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Cote d'Ivoire
      conventional short form: Cote d'Ivoire
      local long form: Republique de Cote d'Ivoire
      local short form: Cote d'Ivoire
      former: Ivory Coast

      Data code IV

      Government type republic; multiparty presidential regime established 1960

      National capital Yamoussoukro
      note: although Yamoussoukro has been the capital since 1983, Abidjan remains the administrative center; the US, like other countries, maintains its Embassy in Abidjan

      Administrative divisions 50 departments (departements, singular - departement); Abengourou, Abidjan, Aboisso, Adzope, Agboville, Agnibilekrou, Bangolo, Beoumi, Biankouma, Bondoukou, Bongouanou, Bouafle, Bouake, Bouna, Boundiali, Dabakala, Daloa, Danane, Daoukro, Dimbokro, Divo, Duekoue, Ferkessedougou, Gagnoa, Grand-Lahou, Guiglo, Issia, Katiola, Korhogo, Lakota, Man, Mankono, Mbahiakro, Odienne, Oume, Sakassou, San-Pedro, Sassandra, Seguela, Sinfra, Soubre, Tabou, Tanda, Tingrela, Tiassale, Touba, Toumodi, Vavoua, Yamoussoukro, Zuenoula
      note: Cote d'Ivoire may have a new administrative structure consisting of 56 departments; the following additional departments have been reported but not yet confirmed by the US Board on Geographic Names (BGN); Adiake', Ale'pe', Dabon, Grand Bassam, Jacqueville, Tiebussan

      Independence 7 August 1960 (from France)

      National holiday National Day, 7 August

      Constitution 3 November 1960; has been amended numerous times, last time November 1990

      Legal system based on French civil law system and customary law; judicial review in the Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 21 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Henri Konan BEDIE (since 7 December 1993); note - succeeded to the presidency following the death of President Felix HOUPHOUET-BOIGNY, who had served continuously since November 1960
      head of government: Prime Minister Daniel Kablan DUNCAN (since 10 December 1993)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the prime minister
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 22 October 1995 (next to be held October 2000); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: Henri Konan BEDIE elected president; percent of vote - Henri Konan BEDIE 96%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale (175 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: elections last held 27 November 1995 (next to be held November 2000)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PDCI 150, RDR 13, FPI 12

      Judicial branch Supreme Court (Cour Supreme)

      Political parties and leaders Democratic Party of the Cote d'Ivoire or PDCI [Henri Konan BEDIE]; Rally of the Republicans or RDR [Djeny KOBINA]; Ivorian Popular Front or FPI [Laurent GBAGBO]; Ivorian Worker's Party or PIT [Francis WODIE]; Ivorian Socialist Party or PSI [Morifere BAMBA]; over 20 smaller parties

      International organization participation ACCT, ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, Entente, FAO, FZ, G-24, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WADB, WAEMU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Koffi Moise KOUMOUE-KOFFI
      chancery: 2424 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 797-0300

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Lannon WALKER
      embassy: 5 Rue Jesse Owens, Abidjan
      mailing address: 01 B. P. 1712, Abidjan
      telephone: [225] 21 09 79
      FAX: [225] 22 32 59

      Flag description three equal vertical bands of orange (hoist side), white, and green; similar to the flag of Ireland, which is longer and has the colors reversed - green (hoist side), white, and orange; also similar to the flag of Italy, which is green (hoist side), white, and red; design was based on the flag of France

      NOTE: The information regarding Cote d'Ivoire on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Cote d'Ivoire Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cote d'Ivoire Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)