Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Eritrea Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: State of Eritrea
      conventional short form: Eritrea
      local long form: Hagere Ertra
      local short form: Ertra
      former: Eritrea Autonomous Region in Ethiopia

      Data code ER

      Government type transitional government
      note: following a successful referendum on independence for the Autonomous Region of Eritrea on 23-25 April 1993, a National Assembly, composed entirely of the Peoples' Front for Democracy and Justice or PFDJ, was established as a transitional legislature; a Constitutional Commission was also established to draft a constitution; ISAIAS Afworki was elected president by the transitional legislature

      National capital Asmara (formerly Asmera)

      Administrative divisions 8 provinces (singular - awraja); Akele Guzay, Barka, Denkel, Hamasen, Sahil, Semhar, Senhit, Seraye
      note: in May 1995 the National Assembly adopted a resolution stating that the administrative structure of Eritrea, which had been established by former colonial powers, would consist of only six provinces when the new constitution, then being drafted, would go into effect some time in 1998; the new provinces, the names of which had not been recommended by the US Board on Geographic Names for recognition by the US government, pending acceptable definition of the boundaries, were: Anseba, Debub, Debubawi Keyih Bahri, Gash-Barka, Maakel, and Semanawi Keyih Bahri; more recently, it has been reported that these provinces have been redesignated regions and renamed Southern Red Sea, Northern Red Sea, Anseba, Gash-Barka, Southern, and Central

      Independence 27 May 1993 (from Ethiopia; formerly the Eritrea Autonomous Region)

      National holiday National Day (independence from Ethiopia), 24 May (1993)

      Constitution the transitional constitution, decreed on 19 May 1993, was replaced by a new constitution that was promulgated in May 1997

      Legal system NA

      Suffrage NA; note - the transitional constitution of 19 May 1993 did not provide rules for suffrage, but it seems likely that the final version of the constitution, which may be promulgated some time in 1998, will follow the example set in the referendum of 1993 and extend suffrage to all persons 18 years of age or older

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President ISAIAS Afworki (since 8 June 1993); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President ISAIAS Afworki (since 8 June 1993); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: State Council is the collective executive authority
      note: the president is head of the State Council and National Assembly
      elections: president elected by the National Assembly; election last held 8 June 1993 (next to be held NA)
      election results: ISAIAS Afworki elected president; percent of National Assembly vote - ISAIAS Afworki 95%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly (150 seats; term limits not established)
      elections: in May 1997, following the adoption of the new constitution, 75 members of the PFDJ Central Committee (the old Central Committee of the EPLF), 60 members of the 527-member Constituent Assembly which had been established in 1997 to discuss and ratify the new constitution, and 15 representatives of Eritreans living abroad were formed into a Transitional National Assembly to serve as the country's legislative body until country-wide elections to a National Assembly are held in 1998; only 75 members will be elected to the National Assembly - the other 75 will be members of the Central Committee of the PFDJ

      Judicial branch Judiciary the Supreme Court; 10 provincial courts; 29 district courts

      Political parties and leaders People's Front for Democracy and Justice or PFDJ, the only party recognized by the government [ISAIAS Afworki, PETROS Solomon]

      Political pressure groups and leaders Eritrean Islamic Jihad or EIJ; Eritrean Liberation Front or ELF [ABDULLAH Muhammed]; Eritrean Liberation Front-United Organization or ELF-UO [Mohammed Said NAWUD]; Eritrean Liberation Front-Revolutionary Council or ELF-RC [Ahmed NASSER]

      International organization participation ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, FAO, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IGAD, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), ITU, NAM, OAU, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Semere RUSSOM
      chancery: 1708 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20009
      telephone: [1] (202) 319-1991
      FAX: [1] (202) 319-1304

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador-designate William CLARK
      embassy: Franklin D. Roosevelt Street, Asmara
      mailing address: P.O. Box 211, Asmara
      telephone: [291] (1) 120004
      FAX: [291] (1) 127584

      Flag description red isosceles triangle (based on the hoist side) dividing the flag into two right triangles; the upper triangle is green, the lower one is blue; a gold wreath encircling a gold olive branch is centered on the hoist side of the red triangle

      NOTE: The information regarding Eritrea on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Eritrea Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Eritrea Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -
    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2022 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)