Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Hong Kong Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
      conventional short form: Hong Kong
      local long form: Xianggang Tebie Xingzhengqu
      local short form: Xianggang
      abbreviation: HK

      Data code HK

      Dependency status special administrative region of China

      Government type NA

      National capital Victoria

      Administrative divisions none (special administrative region of China)

      Independence none (special administrative region of China)

      National holiday National Day, 1-2 October
      note: 1 July 1997 is celebrated as Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day

      Constitution Basic Law approved in March 1990 by China's National People's Congress is Hong Kong's "mini-constitution"

      Legal system based on English common law

      Suffrage direct election 18 years of age; universal for permanent residents living in the territory of Hong Kong for the past seven years; indirect election limited to about 100,000 members of functional constituencies and an 800-member Election Commission drawn from broad regional groupings and other central government bodies

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President of China JIANG Zemin (since 27 March 1993)
      head of government: Chief Executive TUNG Chee-hwa (since 1 July 1997)
      cabinet: Executive Council consists of three ex-officio members and 10 appointed members; ex-officio members are: Chief Secretary Anson CHAN (since 29 November 1993), Financial Secretary Donald TSANG (since NA 1995), and Secretary of Justice Elsie LEUNG (since NA 1997)
      elections: NA

      Legislative branch a provisional legislature replaced the unicameral Legislative Council or LEGCO (60 seats; 30 indirectly elected by functional constituencies, 20 elected by popular vote, and 10 elected by election committee; members served four-year terms) on 1 July 1997
      elections: indirect and direct elections for the Legislative Council were last held on 17 September 1995; elections for the first Special Administrative Region Legislative Council are scheduled to be held in May 1998
      election results: the following are results of the 1995 election of the Legislative Council - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Democratic Party 21, Liberal Party 10, Democratic Alliance for the Betterment of Hong Kong 6, other parties and independents 23

      Judicial branch Supreme Court

      Political parties and leaders Democratic Party, Martin LEE, chairman; Liberal Party, Allen LEE, chairman; Democratic Alliance for the Betterment of Hong Kong, TSANG Yuk-shing, chairman; Hong Kong Democratic Foundation, Dr. Patrick SHIU Kin-ying, chairman; The Frontier, Emily LAN Wai-hang, chairwoman

      Political pressure groups and leaders Association for Democracy and People's Livelihood (ADPL), Frederick FUNG Kin Kee, chairman; Liberal Democratic Federation, HU Fa-kuang, chairman; Federation of Trade Unions (pro-China), LEE Chark-tim, president; Hong Kong and Kowloon Trade Union Council (pro-Taiwan); Confederation of Trade Unions (pro-democracy), LEE Cheuk-yan, chairman; Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce; Chinese General Chamber of Commerce (pro-China); Federation of Hong Kong Industries; Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong; Hong Kong Professional Teachers' Union, CHEUNG Man-kwong, president; Hong Kong Alliance in Support of the Patriotic Democratic Movement in China, Szeto WAH, chairman

      International organization participation APEC, AsDB, BIS (pending member), CCC, ESCAP (associate), ICFTU, IMO (associate), Interpol (subbureau), IOC, ISO (correspondent), WCL, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US none (special administrative region of China)

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Consul General Richard A. BOUCHER
      consulate(s) general: 26 Garden Road, Hong Kong
      mailing address: PSC 464, Box 30, FPO AP 96522-0002
      telephone: [852] 2523-9011
      FAX: [852] 2845-1598

      Flag description red with a stylized, white, five-petal bauhinia flower in the center

      NOTE: The information regarding Hong Kong on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Hong Kong Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Hong Kong Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)