Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Liberia Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Liberia
      conventional short form: Liberia

      Data code LI

      Government type republic

      National capital Monrovia

      Administrative divisions 13 counties; Bomi, Bong, Grand Bassa, Grand Cape Mount, Grand Gedeh, Grand Kru, Lofa, Margibi, Maryland, Montserrado, Nimba, River Cess, Sinoe

      Independence 26 July 1847

      National holiday Independence Day, 26 July (1847)

      Constitution 6 January 1986

      Legal system dual system of statutory law based on Anglo-American common law for the modern sector and customary law based on unwritten tribal practices for indigenous sector

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Charles Ghankay TAYLOR (since 2 August 1997); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Charles Ghankay TAYLOR (since 2 August 1997); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president
      elections: the president is elected by universal adult suffrage for a four-year term (renewable); election last held 19 July 1997 (next to be held NA July 2003)
      election results: Charles Ghankay TAYLOR elected president; percent of vote - Charles Ghankay TAYLOR (NPP) 75.3%, Ellen Johnson SIRLEAF (UP) 9.6%, Alhaji KROMAH (ALCOP) 4%, other 11.1%

      Legislative branch bicameral National Assembly consists of the Senate (26 seats; members serve NA-year terms) and the House of Representatives (64 seats; members serve NA-year terms)
      elections: Senate - last held 19 July 1997 (next to be held in NA 2003); House of Representatives - last held 19 July 1997 (next to be held in NA 2003)
      election results: Senate: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NPP 21, UP 3, ALCOP 2; House of Representatives: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NPP 49, UP 7, ALCOP 3, Alliance of Political Parties 2, UPP 2, LPP 1; note - the Alliance of Political Parties was a coalition of Liberian Action Party and Liberian Unification Party

      Judicial branch Supreme Court

      Political parties and leaders
      ruling party: National Patriotic Party or NPP [Charles Ghankay TAYLOR, leader]
      opposition party: All Liberia Coalition Party or ALCOP [Alhaji KROMAH, chairman]; Free Democratic Party or FDP [Fayah GBOLLIE, chairman]; Liberian Action Party or LAP [Cletis WOTORSON]; Liberian National Union or LINU [Harry MONIBA, chairman]; Liberian Peoples Party or LPP [Togba-Nah TIPOTEH, chairman]; Liberian Unification Party or LUP [Laveli SUPUWOOD]; National Democratic Party of Liberia or NDPL [Dr. George E. Saigbe BOLEY, chairman]; National Reformation Party or NRP [Martin SHERIF, chairman]; People's Democratic Party of Liberia or PDPL [George Toe WASHINGTON, chairman]; People's Progressive Party or PPP [Chea CHEAPOO, chairman]; Reformation Alliance Party or RAP [Henry Boimah FAHNBULLEH, chairman]; True Whig Party or TWP [Rudolph SHERMAN, chairman]; Unity Party or UP [Ellen JOHNSON-SIRLEAF, chairman]; United People's Party or UPP [Gabriel Baccus MATTHEWS, chairman]

      International organization participation ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, IOM, ITU, NAM, OAU, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador designate Rachel DIGGS; Charge d'Affaires ad interim Konah K. BLACKETT
      chancery: 5201 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20011
      telephone: [1] (202) 723-0437
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Chief of Mission William MILAM
      embassy: 111 United Nations Drive, Monrovia
      mailing address: P. O. Box 100098, Mamba Point, Monrovia
      telephone: [231] 226-370
      FAX: [231] 226-148

      Flag description 11 equal horizontal stripes of red (top and bottom) alternating with white; there is a white five-pointed star on a blue square in the upper hoist-side corner; the design was based on the US flag

      NOTE: The information regarding Liberia on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Liberia Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Liberia Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)