Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    New Zealand Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: New Zealand
      abbreviation: NZ

      Data code NZ

      Government type parliamentary democracy

      National capital Wellington

      Administrative divisions 93 counties, 9 districts*, and 3 town districts**; Akaroa, Amuri, Ashburton, Bay of Islands, Bruce, Buller, Chatham Islands, Cheviot, Clifton, Clutha, Cook, Dannevirke, Egmont, Eketahuna, Ellesmere, Eltham, Eyre, Featherston, Franklin, Golden Bay, Great Barrier Island, Grey, Hauraki Plains, Hawera*, Hawke's Bay, Heathcote, Hikurangi**, Hobson, Hokianga, Horowhenua, Hurunui, Hutt, Inangahua, Inglewood, Kaikoura, Kairanga, Kiwitea, Lake, Mackenzie, Malvern, Manaia**, Manawatu, Mangonui, Maniototo, Marlborough, Masterton, Matamata, Mount Herbert, Ohinemuri, Opotiki, Oroua, Otamatea, Otorohanga*, Oxford, Pahiatua, Paparua, Patea, Piako, Pohangina, Raglan, Rangiora*, Rangitikei, Rodney, Rotorua*, Runanga, Saint Kilda, Silverpeaks, Southland, Stewart Island, Stratford, Strathallan, Taranaki, Taumarunui, Taupo, Tauranga, Thames-Coromandel*, Tuapeka, Vincent, Waiapu, Waiheke, Waihemo, Waikato, Waikohu, Waimairi, Waimarino, Waimate, Waimate West, Waimea, Waipa, Waipawa*, Waipukurau*, Wairarapa South, Wairewa, Wairoa, Waitaki, Waitomo*, Waitotara, Wallace, Wanganui, Waverley**, Westland, Whakatane*, Whangarei, Whangaroa, Woodville
      note: there may be a new administrative structure of 16 regions (Auckland, Bay of Plenty, Canterbury, Gisborne, Hawke's Bay, Marlborough, Nelson, Northland, Otago, Southland, Taranaki, Tasman, Waikato, Wanganui-Manawatu, Wellington, West Coast) that are subdivided into 57 districts and 16 cities* (Ashburton, Auckland*, Banks Peninsula, Buller, Carterton, Central Hawke's Bay, Central Otago, Christchurch*, Clutha, Dunedin*, Far North, Franklin, Gisborne, Gore, Grey, Hamilton*, Hastings, Hauraki, Horowhenua, Hurunui, Hutt*, Invercargill*, Kaikoura, Kaipara, Kapiti Coast, Kawerau, Mackenzie, Manawatu, Manukau*, Marlborough, Masterton, Matamata Piako, Napier*, Nelson*, New Plymouth, North Shore*, Opotiki, Otorohanga, Palmerston North*, Papakura*, Porirua*, Queenstown Lakes, Rangitikei, Rodney, Rotorua, Ruapehu, Selwyn, Southland, South Taranaki, South Waikato, South Wairarapa, Stratford, Tararua, Tasman, Taupo, Tauranga, Thames Coromandel, Timaru, Upper Hutt*, Waikato, Waimakariri, Waimate, Waipa, Wairoa, Waitakere*, Waitaki, Waitomo, Wanganui, Wellington*, Western Bay of Plenty, Westland, Whakatane, Whangarei)

      Dependent areas Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau

      Independence 26 September 1907 (from UK)

      National holiday Waitangi Day, 6 February (1840) (Treaty of Waitangi established British sovereignty)

      Constitution no formal, written constitution; consists of various documents, including certain acts of the UK and New Zealand Parliaments; Constitution Act 1986 was to have come into force 1 January 1987, but has not been enacted

      Legal system based on English law, with special land legislation and land courts for Maoris; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction, with reservations

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II of the UK (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Sir Michael HARDIE BOYS (since 21 March 1996)
      head of government: Prime Minister Jenny SHIPLEY (since 8 December 1997) and Deputy Prime Minister Winston PETERS (since 16 December 1996); note - SHIPLEY wrested control of the National Party in November from Prime Minister BOLGER, replacing BOLGER as prime minister in December
      cabinet: Executive Council appointed by the governor general on the recommendation of the prime minister
      elections: none; the queen is a hereditary monarch; governor general appointed by the queen; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of a majority coalition is usually appointed prime minister by the governor general for a three-year term; deputy prime minister appointed by the governor general
      note: the government is a coalition of the National Party and the New Zealand First Party

      Legislative branch unicameral House of Representatives - commonly called Parliament (120 seats; members elected by popular vote in single-member constituencies to serve three-year terms)
      elections: last held 12 October 1996 (next must be called by October 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NP 34.1%, NZLP 28.3%, NZFP 13.1%, Alliance 10.1%, ACT 6.17%, UNZ 0.91%; seats by party - NP 44, NZLP 37, NZFP 17, Alliance 13, ACT 8, UNZ 1

      Judicial branch High Court; Court of Appeal

      Political parties and leaders National Party (NP), Jenny SHIPLEY; New Zealand First Party (NZFP), Winston PETERS; New Zealand Labor Party (NZLP, opposition), Helen CLARK; Alliance (a coalition of five small parties - NewLabor Party, Jim ANDERTON; Democratic Party, John WRIGHT; New Zealand Liberal Party, Frank GROVER; Green Party, Jeanette FITZSIMONS; and Mana Motuhake, Sandra LEE), codeputy leaders are Sandra LEE and Jeanette FITZSIMONS; United New Zealand (UNZ), Clive MATTHEWSON; Conservative Party (formerly Right of Centre Party), Trevor ROGERS; Association of Consumers and Taxpayers, New Zealand (ACT), Richard PREBBLE; Christian Coalition (a coalition of the Christian Democrats and Christian Heritage Party), coleaders Graeme LEE and Rev. Graham CAPILL

      International organization participation ANZUS (US suspended security obligations to NZ on 11 August 1986), APEC, AsDB, Australia Group, C, CCC, CP, EBRD, ESCAP, FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IEA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO, ITU, MTCR, NAM (guest), OECD, PCA, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNPREDEP, UNTSO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador-designate James BOLGER
      chancery: 37 Observatory Circle NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 328-4800
      consulate(s) general: Los Angeles, New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Josiah Horton BEEMAN
      embassy: 29 Fitzherbert Terrace, Thorndon, Wellington
      mailing address: P. O. Box 1190, Wellington; PSC 467, Box 1, FPO AP 96531-1001
      telephone: [64] (4) 472-2068
      FAX: [64] (4) 472-3537
      consulate(s) general: Auckland

      Flag description blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant with four red five-pointed stars edged in white centered in the outer half of the flag; the stars represent the Southern Cross constellation

      NOTE: The information regarding New Zealand on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of New Zealand Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about New Zealand Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)