Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

      Data code VC

      Government type constitutional monarchy

      National capital Kingstown

      Administrative divisions 6 parishes; Charlotte, Grenadines, Saint Andrew, Saint David, Saint George, Saint Patrick

      Independence 27 October 1979 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 27 October (1979)

      Constitution 27 October 1979

      Legal system based on English common law

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II of the UK (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Charles ANTROBUS (since NA)
      head of government: Prime Minister James Fitz-Allen MITCHELL (since 30 July 1984)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister
      elections: none; the queen is a hereditary monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party is usually appointed prime minister by the governor general; deputy prime minister appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister

      Legislative branch unicameral House of Assembly (21 seats, 15 elected representatives and 6 appointed senators; members are elected by popular vote from single member constituencies to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 21 February 1994 (next to be held by NA May 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NDP 12, ULP 3

      Judicial branch Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (based on Saint Lucia); one judge of the Supreme Court resides in Saint Vincent

      Political parties and leaders New Democratic Party (NDP), James F. MITCHELL; United People's Movement (UPM), Adrian SAUNDERS; National Reform Party (NRP), Joel MIGUEL; Unity Labor Party (ULP),Vincent BEACHE - formed by the coalition of Saint Vincent Labor Party (SVLP) and the Movement for National Unity (MNU)

      International organization participation ACP, C, Caricom, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ITU, OAS, OECS, OPANAL, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Kingsley C.A. LAYNE
      chancery: 3216 New Mexico Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20016
      telephone: [1] (202) 364-6730
      FAX: [1] (202) 364-6736

      Diplomatic representation from the US the US does not have an embassy in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; the Ambassador to Saint Vincent and the Grenadines resides in Bridgetown (Barbados)

      Flag description three vertical bands of blue (hoist side), gold (double width), and green; the gold band bears three green diamonds arranged in a V pattern

      NOTE: The information regarding Saint Vincent and the Grenadines on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)