Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Tanzania Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: United Republic of Tanzania
      conventional short form: Tanzania
      former: United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar

      Data code TZ

      Government type republic

      National capital Dar es Salaam
      note: some government offices have been transferred to Dodoma, which is planned as the new national capital by the end of the 1990s; the National Assembly now meets there on regular basis

      Administrative divisions 25 regions; Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Dodoma, Iringa, Kigoma, Kilimanjaro, Lindi, Mara, Mbeya, Morogoro, Mtwara, Mwanza, Pemba North, Pemba South, Pwani, Rukwa, Ruvuma, Shinyanga, Singida, Tabora, Tanga, Zanzibar Central/South, Zanzibar North, Zanzibar Urban/West, Ziwa Magharibi
      note: although some recent maps have referred to Ziwa Magharibi as Kagera, the US Board on Geographic Names has not approved the change

      Independence 26 April 1964; Tanganyika became independent 9 December 1961 (from UK-administered UN trusteeship); Zanzibar became independent 19 December 1963 (from UK); Tanganyika united with Zanzibar 26 April 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar; renamed United Republic of Tanzania 29 October 1964

      National holiday Union Day, 26 April (1964)

      Constitution 25 April 1977; major revisions October 1984

      Legal system based on English common law; judicial review of legislative acts limited to matters of interpretation; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Benjamin William MKAPA (since 23 November 1995); Vice President Omar Ali JUMA (since 23 November 1995); note the president is both chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Benjamin William MKAPA (since 23 November 1995); Vice President Omar Ali JUMA (since 23 November 1995); note - the president is both chief of state and head of government
      note: Zanzibar elects a president who is head of government for matters internal to Zanzibar; Dr. Salmin AMOUR was elected to that office on 22 October 1995 in a popular election
      cabinet: Cabinet ministers, including the prime minister, are appointed by the president from among the members of the National Assembly
      elections: president and vice president elected on the same ballot by popular vote for five-year terms; election last held 29 October-19 November 1995 (next to be held NA October 2000); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: percent of vote - Benjamin William MKAPA 62%, MREMA 28%, LIPUMBA 6%, CHEYO 4%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly or Bunge (274 seats - 232 directly elected by universal adult suffrage, 37 allocated to women nominated by the president, five to members of the Zanzibar House of Representatives; members serve five-year terms); note - in addition to enacting laws that apply to the entire United Republic of Tanzania, the Assembly enacts laws that apply only to the mainland; Zanzibar has its own House of Representatives to make laws especially for Zanzibar (the Zanzibar House of Representatives has 50 seats, directly elected by universal suffrage to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 29 October-19 November 1995 (next to be held NA October 2000)
      election results: National Assembly: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - CCM 186, CUF 24, NCCR-Mageuzi 16, CHADEMA 3, UDP 3; Zanzibar House of Representatives: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - CCM 26, CUF 24

      Judicial branch Court of Appeal; High Court, judges appointed by the president

      Political parties and leaders Chama Cha Mapinduzi or CCM (Revolutionary Party) [Benjamin William MKAPA]; Civic United Front or CUF [Seif Sharif HAMAD]; National Convention for Construction and Reform or NCCR [Lyatonga (Augustine) MREMA]; Union for Multiparty Democracy or UMD [Abdullah FUNDIKIRA]; Chama Cha Demokrasia na Maendeleo or CHADEMA [Edwin I. M. MTEI, chairman]; Democratic Party (unregistered) [Reverend MTIKLA]; United Democratic Party or UDP [John CHEYO]

      International organization participation ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, EADB, ECA, FAO, G- 6, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, MONUA, NAM, OAU, SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Mustafa Salim NYANG'ANYI
      chancery: 2139 R Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 939-6125
      FAX: [1] (202) 797-7408

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Charge d'Affaires John LANGE
      embassy: 36 Laibon Road (off Bagamoyo Road), Dar es Salaam
      mailing address: P. O. Box 9123, Dar es Salaam
      telephone: [255] (51) 666010 through 666015
      FAX: [255] (51) 666701

      Flag description divided diagonally by a yellow-edged black band from the lower hoist-side corner; the upper triangle (hoist side) is green and the lower triangle is blue

      NOTE: The information regarding Tanzania on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Tanzania Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Tanzania Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)