Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 2002 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Bermuda Government - 2002

      Country name
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Bermuda
      former: Somers Islands

      Dependency status overseas territory of the UK

      Government type parliamentary British overseas territory with internal self-government

      Capital Hamilton

      Administrative divisions 9 parishes and 2 municipalities*; Devonshire, Hamilton, Hamilton*, Paget, Pembroke, Saint George*, Saint George's, Sandys, Smith's, Southampton, Warwick

      Independence none (overseas territory of the UK)

      National holiday Bermuda Day, 24 May

      Constitution 8 June 1968, amended 1989

      Legal system English law

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor Sir John VEREKER (since NA April 2002)
      head of government: Premier Jennifer SMITH (since 10 November 1998)
      cabinet: Cabinet nominated by the premier, appointed by the governor
      elections: none; the monarch is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch; governor invites the leader of largest party in Parliament to form a government as premier

      Legislative branch bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (an 11-member body appointed by the governor, the premier, and the opposition) and the House of Assembly (40 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last general election held 9 November 1998 (next to be held NA November 2003)
      election results: percent of vote by party - PLP 54%, UBP 44%, NLP 1%, independents 1%; seats by party - PLP 26, UBP 14

      Judicial branch Supreme Court; Court of Appeal; Magistrate Courts

      Political parties and leaders National Liberal Party or NLP [Dessaline WALDRON]; Progressive Labor Party or PLP [Jennifer SMITH]; United Bermuda Party or UBP [Dr. Grant GIBBONS]

      Political pressure groups and leaders Bermuda Employer's Union [Eddie SAINTS]; Bermuda Industrial Union or BIU [Derrick BURGESS]; Bermuda Public Services Association or BPSA [leader NA]; Bermuda Union of Teachers [Michael CHARLES]

      International organization participation Caricom (observer), CCC, ICFTU, Interpol (subbureau), IOC

      Diplomatic representation in the US none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Acting Consul General Karen EMMERSON
      consulate(s) general: Crown Hill, 16 Middle Road, Devonshire DVQ3
      mailing address: P. O. Box HM325, Hamilton HMBX; American Consulate General Hamilton, Department of State, 5300 Hamilton Place, Washington, DC 20520-5300
      telephone: [1] (441) 295-1342
      FAX: [1] (441) 295-1592, [1] (441) 296-9233

      Flag description red, with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Bermudian coat of arms (white and green shield with a red lion holding a scrolled shield showing the sinking of the ship Sea Venture off Bermuda in 1609) centered on the outer half of the flag

      NOTE: The information regarding Bermuda on this page is re-published from the 2002 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Bermuda Government 2002 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Bermuda Government 2002 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Language Translation Services - All Languages

    Revised 30-Jan-03
    Copyright © 2002 - 2020 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)