Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 2002 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Trinidad and Tobago Government - 2002

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
      conventional short form: Trinidad and Tobago

      Government type parliamentary democracy

      Capital Port-of-Spain

      Administrative divisions 8 counties, 3 municipalities*, and 1 ward**; Arima*, Caroni, Mayaro, Nariva, Port-of-Spain*, Saint Andrew, Saint David, Saint George, Saint Patrick, San Fernando*, Tobago**, Victoria

      Independence 31 August 1962 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 31 August (1962)

      Constitution 1 August 1976

      Legal system based on English common law; judicial review of legislative acts in the Supreme Court; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Arthur Napoleon Raymond ROBINSON (since 18 March 1997)
      head of government: Prime Minister Patrick MANNING (since 24 December 2001)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed from among the members of Parliament
      elections: president elected by an electoral college, which consists of the members of the Senate and House of Representatives, for a five-year term; election last held 10 December 2001 (next to be held NA 2006); the president usually appoints as prime minister the leader of the majority party in the House of Representatives
      election results: Arthur Napoleon Raymond ROBINSON elected president; percent of electoral college vote - 69%

      Legislative branch bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (31 seats; members appointed by the president for a maximum term of five years) and the House of Representatives (36 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: House of Representatives - last held 10 December 2001 (next to be held by December 2006)
      note: Tobago has a unicameral House of Assembly, with 15 members serving four-year terms
      election results: House of Representatives - percent of vote - UNC 49.9%, PNM 46.5%; seats by party - UNC 18, PNM 18

      Judicial branch Supreme Court of Judicature (comprised of the High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeals; the chief justice is appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister and the leader of the opposition; other justices are appointed by the president on the advice of the Judicial and Legal Service Commission); High Court of Justice; Court of Appeals the highest court of appeal is the Privy Council in London

      Political parties and leaders National Alliance for Reconstruction or NAR [Hochoy CHARLES]; People's Empowerment Party or PEP [leader NA]; People's National Movement or PNM [Patrick MANNING]; Team Unity or TUN [Ramesh MAHARAJ]; United National Congress or UNC [Basdeo PANDAY]

      Political pressure groups and leaders Jamaat-al Musilmeen [Yasin BAKR]

      International organization participation ACP, C, Caricom, CCC, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-24, G-77, IADB, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNU, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Mackisack LOGIE
      chancery: 1708 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
      consulate(s) general: Miami and New York
      FAX: [1] (202) 785-3130
      telephone: [1] (202) 467-6490

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Roy AUSTIN
      embassy: 15 Queen's Park West, Port-of-Spain
      mailing address: P. O. Box 752, Port-of-Spain
      telephone: [1] (868) 622-6371 through 6376
      FAX: [1] (868) 628-5462

      Flag description red with a white-edged black diagonal band from the upper hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding Trinidad and Tobago on this page is re-published from the 2002 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Trinidad and Tobago Government 2002 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Trinidad and Tobago Government 2002 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Language Translation Services - All Languages

    Revised 30-Jan-03
    Copyright © 2002 - 2020 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)