Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 2002 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Vanuatu Government - 2002

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Vanuatu
      conventional short form: Vanuatu
      former: New Hebrides

      Government type parliamentary republic

      Capital Port-Vila

      Administrative divisions 6 provinces; Malampa, Penama, Sanma, Shefa, Tafea, Torba

      Independence 30 July 1980 (from France and UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 30 July (1980)

      Constitution 30 July 1980

      Legal system unified system being created from former dual French and British systems

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Father John BANI (since 25 March 1999)
      elections: president elected for a four-year term by an electoral college consisting of Parliament and the presidents of the regional councils for a five-year term; election for president last held 25 March 1999 (next to be held NA 2004); following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition is usually elected prime minister by Parliament from among its members; election for prime minister last held 2 May 2002 (next to be held NA 2003)
      note: the government of Prime Minister Barak SOPE was ousted in a no confidence vote on 14 April 2001 and Edward NATAPEI was elected the new prime minister by Parliament
      election results: Father John BANI elected president; percent of electoral college vote - NA%; Edward NATAPEI reelected prime minister by Parliament
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the prime minister, responsible to Parliament
      head of government: Prime Minister Edward NATAPEI (since 16 April 2001); Deputy Prime Minister Serge VOHOR (since 16 April 2001)

      Legislative branch unicameral Parliament (52 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 2 May 2002 (next to be held NA 2006)
      note: the National Council of Chiefs advises on matters of custom and land
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - UMP 15, VP 14, VRP 3, MPP 2, other and independent 18; note - political party associations are fluid

      Judicial branch Supreme Court (chief justice is appointed by the president after consultation with the prime minister and the leader of the opposition, three other justices are appointed by the president on the advice of the Judicial Service Commission)

      Political parties and leaders Jon Frum Movement [Song KEASPAI]; Melanesian Progressive Party or MPP [Barak SOPE]; National United Party or NUP [Dinh Van THAN]; Union of Moderate Parties or UMP [Serge VOHOR]; Vanuaaku Party (Our Land Party) or VP [Edward NATAPEI]; Vanuatu Republican Party [Maxime Carlot KORMAN]

      Political pressure groups and leaders NA

      International organization participation ACCT, ACP, AsDB, C, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFC, IFRCS, IMF, IMO, IOC, ITU, NAM, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNMIBH, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTrO (observer)

      Diplomatic representation in the US Vanuatu does not have an embassy in the US, it does, however, have a Permanent Mission to the UN

      Diplomatic representation from the US the US does not have an embassy in Vanuatu; the ambassador to Papua New Guinea is accredited to Vanuatu

      Flag description two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and green with a black isosceles triangle (based on the hoist side) all separated by a black-edged yellow stripe in the shape of a horizontal Y (the two points of the Y face the hoist side and enclose the triangle); centered in the triangle is a boar's tusk encircling two crossed namele leaves, all in yellow

      NOTE: The information regarding Vanuatu on this page is re-published from the 2002 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Vanuatu Government 2002 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Vanuatu Government 2002 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Language Translation Services - All Languages

    Revised 30-Jan-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)