Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Estonia Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Estonia
      conventional short form: Estonia
      local long form: Eesti Vabariik
      local short form: Eesti
      former: Estonian Soviet Socialist Republic

      Data code EN

      Government type parliamentary democracy

      National capital Tallinn

      Administrative divisions 15 counties (maakonnad, singular - maakond): Harjumaa (Tallinn), Hiiumaa (Kardla), Ida-Virumaa (Johvi), Jarvamaa (Paide), Jogevamaa (Jogeva), Laanemaa (Haapsalu), Laane-Virumaa (Rakvere), Parnumaa (Parnu), Polvamaa (Polva), Raplamaa (Rapla), Saaremaa (Kuessaare), Tartumaa (Tartu), Valgamaa (Valga), Viljandimaa (Viljandi), Vorumaa (Voru)
      note: administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)

      Independence 6 September 1991 (from Soviet Union)

      National holiday Independence Day, 24 February (1918)

      Constitution adopted 28 June 1992

      Legal system based on civil law system; no judicial review of legislative acts

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal for all Estonian citizens

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Lennart MERI (since 5 October 1992)
      head of government: Prime Minister Mart SIIMANN (since 12 March 1997)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the prime minister, approved by Parliament
      elections: president elected by Parliament for a five-year term; if he or she does not secure two-thirds of the votes after 3 rounds of balloting, then an electoral assembly (made up of Parliament plus members of local governments) elects the president, choosing between the two candidates with the largest percentage of votes; election last held August-September 1996 (next to be held fall 2001); prime minister nominated by the president and approved by Parliament
      election results: Lennart MERI elected president by an electoral assembly after Parliament was unable to break a deadlock between MERI and RUUTEL; percent of electoral assembly vote - Lennert MERI 61%, Arnold RUUTEL 39%

      Legislative branch unicameral Parliament or Riigikogu (101 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 5 March 1995 (next to be held NA March 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - KMU 32.22%, RE 16.18%, K 14.17%, Pro Patria and ERSP 7.85%, M 5.98%, Our Home is Estonia and Right-Wingers 5.0%; seats by party - KMU 41, RE 19, K 16, Pro Patria 8, Our Home is Estonia 6, M 6, Right-Wingers 5

      Judicial branch National Court, chairman appointed by the Parliament for life

      Political parties and leaders Coalition Party and Rural Union or KMU [Mart SIIMAN, chairman] made up of 4 parties: Coalition Party or EK, Country People's Party [Arnold RUUTEL, chairman]/Farmer's Assembly or EME, Rural Union or EM [Arvo SIRENDI, chairman] , and Pensioners' and Families' League or EPPL [Mai TREIAL, chairperson]; Reform Party or RE [Siim KALLAS, chairman]; Center Party or K [Edgar SAVISAAR, chairman]; Union of Pro Patria or Fatherland League (Isamaaliit) [Toivo JURGENSON, chairman]; National Independence Party or ERSP [Tunne KELAM, chairman]; Our Home is Estonia [Viktor ANDREJEV] made up of two parties: United Peoples Party and the Russian Party of Estonia; note - Our Home is Estonia split when two Russian Party of Estonia members withdrew; United Peoples Party [Viktor ANDREJEV, chairman]; Russian Party of Estonia [Nikolai MASPANOV, chairman]; Moderates or M [Andres TARAND] made up of two parties: Social Democratic Party or ESDP and Rural Center Party or EMK; Social Democratic Party [Eiki NESTOR, chairman]; Rural Center Party [Vambo KAAL, chairman]; Right-Wingers [Ulo NUGIS, chairman]; Republican Conservative [Vootele HANSEN]; Development/Progressive Party [Andra VEIDEMANN, chairwoman], note - party was created by defectors from Center Party in late spring 1996, Development Party faction split and now holds five independent seats

      International organization participation BIS, CBSS, CCC, CE, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, EU (applicant), FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IFC, IFRCS, IHO (pending member), ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNMIBH, UNTSO, UPU, WEU (associate partner), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Grigore-Kalev STOICESCU
      chancery: 2131 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 588-0101
      FAX: [1] (202) 588-0108
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Walter ANDRUSYSZYU
      embassy: Kentmanni 20, Tallinn EE 0001
      mailing address: American Embassy Tallinn; PSC 78, Box T; APO AE 09723
      telephone: [372] (6) 312-021
      FAX: [372] (6) 312-025

      Flag description pre-1940 flag restored by Supreme Soviet in May 1990 - three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), black, and white

      NOTE: The information regarding Estonia on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Estonia Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Estonia Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)