Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Mongolia Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Mongolia
      local long form: none
      local short form: Mongol Uls
      former: Outer Mongolia

      Data code MG

      Government type republic

      National capital Ulaanbaatar

      Administrative divisions 18 provinces (aymguud, singular - aymag) and 3 municipalities* (hotuud, singular - hot); Arhangay, Bayanhongor, Bayan-Olgiy, Bulgan, Darhan*, Dornod, Dornogovi, Dundgovi, Dzavhan, Erdenet*, Govi-Altay, Hentiy, Hovd, Hovsgol, Omnogovi, Ovorhangay, Selenge, Suhbaatar, Tov, Ulaanbaatar*, Uvs

      Independence 13 March 1921 (from China)

      National holiday National Day, 11 July (1921)

      Constitution 12 February 1992

      Legal system blend of Russian, Chinese, and Turkish systems of law; no constitutional provision for judicial review of legislative acts; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Natsagiyn BAGABANDI (since 20 June 1997)
      head of government: Prime Minister Tsahiagiyn ELBEGDORJ (since 23 April 1998)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the State Great Hural
      elections: president nominated by parties in the State Great Hural and elected by popular vote for a four-year term; election last held 18 May 1997 (next to be held summer 2001); following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition is usually elected prime minister by the State Great Hural
      election results: Natsagiyn BAGABANDI elected president; percent of vote - Natsagiyn BAGABANDI (MPRP) 60.8%, Punsalmaagiyn OCHIRBAT (MNDP and MSDP) 29.8%, Jambyn GOMBOJAV (MUTP) 6.6%; following a vote of no-confidence against former Prime Minister Mendsaihan ENHSAIHAN, Tsahiagiyn ELBEGDORJ was elected prime minister on 23 April 1998 by a vote in the State Great Hural of 61 to 6 (nine members abstained)

      Legislative branch unicameral State Great Hural (76 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 30 June 1996 (next to be held NA June 2000)
      election results: percent of vote by party - DUC 66%, MPRP 33%, MCP 1%; seats by party - DUC 50 (MNDP 34, MSDP 13, independents 3), MPRP 25, MCP 1

      Judicial branch Supreme Court, serves as appeals court for people's and provincial courts, but to date rarely overturns verdicts of lower courts, judges are nominated by the General Council of Courts for approval by the Great Hural

      Political parties and leaders Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party (MPRP), N. ENKHBAYAR, general secretary; Democratic Union Coalition (DUC), Mendsaihan ENHSAIHAN, general secretary (includes Mongolian National Democratic Party or MNDP, T. ELBEGDORJ, chairman; Mongolian Social Democratic Party or MSDP, Radnaasumbereliyn GONCHIGDORJ, chairman; Green Party, NYAM; and Mongolian Democratic Party of Believers or MDPB, leader NA); Mongolian Conservative Party (MCP), JARGALSAIHAN; Democratic Power Coalition, D. BYAMBASUREN, chairman (includes Mongolian Democratic Renaissance Party or MDRP, BYAMBASUREN, chairman, and Mongolian People's Party or MPP, leader NA); Mongolian National Solidarity Party (MNSP), leader NA; Bourgeois Party/Capitalist Party, VARGALSAIHAN, chairman; United Heritage Party (UHP), B. JAMTSAI (includes United Party of Herdsman and Farmers, leader NA; Independence Party, leader NA; Traditional United Conservative Party, leader NA; and Mongolian United Private Property Owners Party, leader NA); Workers' Party, leader NA

      International organization participation AsDB, CCC, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, NAM, NAM (observer), UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Jalbuugiyn CHOINHOR
      chancery: 2833 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20007
      telephone: [1] (202) 333-7117
      FAX: [1] (202) 298-9227
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Alphonse F. LA PORTA
      embassy: inner north side of the Big Ring, just west of the Selbe Gol, Ulaanbaatar
      mailing address: c/o American Embassy Beijing, Micro Region 11, Big Ring Road; PSC 461, Box 300, FPO AP 96521-0002
      telephone: [976] (1) 329095
      FAX: [976] (1) 320776

      Flag description three equal, vertical bands of red (hoist side), blue, and red; centered on the hoist-side red band in yellow is the national emblem ("soyombo" - a columnar arrangement of abstract and geometric representation for fire, sun, moon, earth, water, and the yin-yang symbol)

      NOTE: The information regarding Mongolia on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Mongolia Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Mongolia Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)