Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Rwanda Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Rwandese Republic
      conventional short form: Rwanda
      local long form: Republika y'u Rwanda
      local short form: Rwanda

      Data code RW

      Government type republic; presidential, multiparty system

      National capital Kigali

      Administrative divisions 12 prefectures (prefectures, singular - prefecture in French; plural - NA, singular - prefegitura in Kinyarwanda); Butare, Byumba, Cyangugu, Gikongoro, Gisenyi, Gitarama, Kibungo, Kibuye, Kigali, Kigaliville, Umutara, Ruhengeri

      Independence 1 July 1962 (from Belgium-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday Independence Day, 1 July (1962)

      Constitution on 5 May 1995, the Transitional National Assembly adopted a new constitution which included elements of the constitution of 18 June 1991 as well as provisions of the 1993 Arusha peace accord and the November 1994 multi-party protocol of understanding

      Legal system based on German and Belgian civil law systems and customary law; judicial review of legislative acts in the Supreme Court; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage NA years of age; universal adult

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Pasteur BIZIMUNGU (since 19 July 1994); Vice President Maj. Gen. Paul KAGAME (since 19 July 1994)
      head of government: Prime Minister Celestin RWIGEMA (since 1 September 1995)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president
      elections: normally the president is elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held in December 1988 (next to be held NA); prime minister is appointed by the president
      election results: Juvenal HABYARIMANA elected president; percent of vote - 99.98% (HABYARIMANA was the sole candidate)
      note: President HABYARIMANA was assassinated on 6 April 1994 and replaced by President BIZIMUNGU who was installed by the military forces of the ruling Rwandan Patriotic Front on 19 July 1994

      Legislative branch unicameral Transitional National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale de Transition (70 seats; members were predetermined by the Arusha peace accord to serve NA-year terms)
      elections: last held 26 December 1988 (next to be held NA); note - the Transitional National Assembly is a power-sharing body established on 12 December 1994 following a multi-party protocol of understanding
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - RPF 19, MDR 13, PSD 13, PL 13, PDC 6, PSR 2, PDI 2, other 2; note - the distribution of seats was predetermined

      Judicial branch Constitutional Court, consists of the Court of Cassation and the Council of State in joint session

      Political parties and leaders significant parties include: Rwandan Patriotic Front or RPF [Alexis KANYARENGWE, chairman]; Democratic Republican Movement or MDR; Liberal Party or PL; Democratic and Socialist Party or PSD; Christian Democratic Party or PDC; Islamic Democratic Party or PDI; Rwandan Socialist Party or PSR; National Movement for Democracy and Development or MRND (former ruling party)

      Political pressure groups and leaders Rwanda Patriotic Army or RPA, the RPF military wing [Maj. Gen. Paul KAGAME, commander]; Rally for the Democracy and Return (RDR)

      International organization participation ACCT, ACP, AfDB, CCC, CEEAC, CEPGL, ECA, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ITU, NAM, OAU, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Theogene N. RUDASINGWA
      chancery: (temporary) 1814 New Hampshire Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20007
      telephone: [1] (202) 232-2882
      FAX: [1] (202) 232-4544

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Robert GRIBBIN III
      embassy: Boulevard de la Revolution, Kigali
      mailing address: B. P. 28, Kigali
      telephone: [250] 756 01 through 03, 721 26, 771 47
      FAX: [250] 721 28

      Flag description three equal vertical bands of red (hoist side), yellow, and green with a large black letter R centered in the yellow band; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia; similar to the flag of Guinea, which has a plain yellow band

      NOTE: The information regarding Rwanda on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Rwanda Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Rwanda Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)