Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Uzbekistan Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Uzbekistan
      conventional short form: Uzbekistan
      local long form: Uzbekiston Respublikasi
      local short form: none
      former: Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic

      Data code UZ

      Government type republic; effectively authoritarian presidential rule, with little power outside the executive branch and executive power concentrated in the presidency

      National capital Tashkent (Toshkent)

      Administrative divisions 12 wiloyatlar (singular - wiloyat), 1 autonomous republic* (respublikasi), and 1 city** (shahri); Andijon Wiloyati, Bukhoro Wiloyati, Jizzakh Wiloyati, Farghona Wiloyati, Qoraqalpoghiston* (Nukus), Qashqadaryo Wiloyati (Qarshi), Khorazm Wiloyati (Urganch), Namangan Wiloyati, Nawoiy Wiloyati, Samarqand Wiloyati, Sirdaryo Wiloyati (Guliston), Surkhondaryo Wiloyati (Termiz), Toshkent Shahri**, Toshkent Wiloyati
      note: administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)

      Independence 31 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)

      National holiday Independence Day, 1 September (1991)

      Constitution new constitution adopted 8 December 1992

      Legal system evolution of Soviet civil law; still lacks independent judicial system

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Islom KARIMOV (since 24 March 1990, when he was elected president by the then Supreme Soviet)
      head of government: Prime Minister Otkir SULTONOV (since 21 December 1995); First Deputy Prime Minister Ismoil JURABEKOV (since NA 1991); Deputy Prime Ministers Viktor CHZHEN (since NA 1994), Bakhtiyor HAMIDOV (since NA 1992), Kayim HAKKULOV (since NA 1991), Dilbar GHOLOMOVA (since NA 1995), Alisher AZIZKHOJAYEV (since NA 1996), Mirabror USMONOV (since NA 1995), Rustam YUNUSOV (since NA 1994)
      cabinet: Cabinet of Ministers appointed by the president with approval of the Supreme Assembly
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 29 December 1991 (next to be held NA January 2000; note - extension of President KARIMOV's term for an additional four years overwhelmingly approved - 99.6% of total vote in favor - by national referendum held 26 March 1995); prime minister and deputy prime ministers appointed by the president
      election results: Islom KARIMOV elected president; percent of vote - Islom KARIMOV 86%, Muhammed SOLIH 12%, other 2%

      Legislative branch unicameral Supreme Assembly or Oliy Majlis (250 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 25 December 1994 (next to be held NA December 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - People's Democratic Party 207, Fatherland Progress Party 12, other 31; note - final runoffs were held 22 January 1995; seating was as follows: People's Democratic Party 69, Fatherland Progress Party 14, Social Democratic Party 47, local government 120
      note: all parties in parliament support President KARIMOV

      Judicial branch Supreme Court, judges are nominated by the president and confirmed by the Supreme Assembly

      Political parties and leaders People's Democratic Party or HDP (formerly Communist Party) [Abdulkhafiz JALOLOV, first secretary]; Fatherland Progress Party (Vatan Tarakiyoti) or VTP [Anwar YULDASHEV, chairman]; Adolat (Justice) Social Democratic Party [Turgunpulat DAMINOV, first secretary]; Democratic National Rebirth Party (Milly Tiklanish) or MTP [Ibrahim GAFUROV, chairman]

      Political pressure groups and leaders Birlik (Unity) Movement [Abdurakhim PULATOV, chairman]; Islamic Rebirth Party or IRP [Abdullah UTAYEV, chairman], note - is banned; Erk (Freedom) Democratic Party [Muhamd SOLIH, chairman] was banned 9 December 1992
      note: all of the above groups are illegal; UTAYEV disappeared in 1992 and probably was detained by the government, but his whereabouts is unknown

      International organization participation AsDB, CCC, CIS, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, ECO, ESCAP, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, NAM, OIC, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Sadyk SAFAYEV
      chancery: 1746 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
      telephone: [1] (202) 887-5300, 293-6801 through 6803
      FAX: [1] (202) 293-6804
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Joseph A. PRESEL (since November 1997)
      embassy: 82 Chilanzarskaya, Tashkent 700115
      mailing address: use embassy street address; Embassy Tashkent, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-7110
      telephone: [7] (3712) 77-14-07, 77-10-81, 77-69-86, 77-11-32, 77-12-62
      FAX: [7] (3712) 40-63-35

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), white, and green separated by red fimbriations with a white crescent moon and 12 white stars in the upper hoist-side quadrant

      NOTE: The information regarding Uzbekistan on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Uzbekistan Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Uzbekistan Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)